European Society for Ecological Economics Conference | ESEE2019

Organisation and contact

Local Organising Committee

Juha Hiedanpää (chair, Natural Resources Institute Finland, Luke), Tina Ahonen (Aboa Congress and Event Services), Toni Laaksonen (Natural Resources Institute Finland, Luke), Nina Janasik (University of Helsinki), Piia Nurmi (Turku University of Applied Sciences), Markku Oksanen (University of Eastern Finland), Lauri Rapeli (Åbo Akademi University), Mia Rönkä (Luke), Matti Salo (Luke) and Timo Vuorisalo (University of Turku). External support by Ines Omann (Sustainable Quality of Life – research and facilitation & Senior Researcher at the Austrian Foundation for Development Research).

The conference is jointly organised by the European Society for Ecological Economics (ESEE), Natural Resources Institute Finland, Luke, University of Turku, University of Helsinki, University of Eastern Finland, Turku University of Applied Sciences, and Åbo Akademi University.


Maj and Tor Nessling Foundation (for the Summer School), University of Turku, Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke). The Strategic Research Council (SRC) at the Academy of Finland, University of Turku, The Federation of Finnish Learned Societies, Åbo Akademi University, Routledge, Turku University of Applied Science.

Environmental impact

The Local Organising Committee is strongly committed to make ESEE 2019 as sustainable as possible, particularly focusing on decreasing the environmental footprint of the event.

Scientific Advisory Committee


  • Ernest Aigner
    University of Vienna (Austria)
  • Tom Bauler
    Université Libre de Bruxelles ULB (Belgium)
  • Federico Demaria
    Autonomous University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • Pınar Ertör-Akyazı
    Istanbul Policy Center (Turkey)
  • Timothy J. Foxon
    University of Sussex (UK)
  • Erik Goméz-Baggethun
    Norwegian University of Life Sciences (Norway)
  • Sarah Hafner
    University of Anglia (UK)
  • Juha Hiedanpää
    National Resources Institute Finland – Luke (Finland)
  • Janne I. Hukkinen
    University of Helsinki (Finland)
  • Nina Janasik
    University of Helsinki (Finland)
  • Jasper Kenter
    University of York (UK)
  • Piia Nurmi
    Turku University of Applied Sciences (Finland)
  • Markku Oksanen
    University of Eastern Finland (Finland)
  • Ines Omann
    Nachhaltige Lebensqualität – Forschung und Prozessbegleitung (Austria)
  • Daniel O’Neill
    University of Leeds (UK)
  • John O’Neill
    University of Manchester (UK)
  • Begüm Özkaynak
    Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona (Spain)
  • György Pataki
    Corvinus Business School (Hungary)
  • Elke Pirgmaier
    Leeds Business School (UK)
  • Eija Pouta
    National Resources Institute Finland – Luke (Finland)
  • Lauri Rapeli
    Åbo Akademi University (Finland)
  • Irene Ring
    Technische Universität Dresden (Germany)
  • Matti Salo
    Natural Resources Institute Finland – Luke (Finland)
  • Maija Setälä
    University of Turku (Finland)
  • Arild Vatn
    Norwegian University of Life Sciences (Norway)
  • Timo Vuorisalo
    University of Turku (Finland)
  • Markus Vinnari
    University of Tampere (Finland)


Contact information:

Research professor Juha Hiedanpää
Please direct conference enquiries to Aboa Congress and Event services